DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

August 15, 2018 Contact: Glenn Sklar (202) 694-7043

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Announces Major Reform

Washington, DC—Acting Chairman Bruce Hamilton announced today a major transformation of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board's (DNFSB) staff. The reform is in response to a number of studies and critiques on the Board's effectiveness during the past several years. Among the changes: an 80% increase in the number of Resident Inspectors located at defense nuclear facilities operated by the Department of Energy; two new field offices in Albuquerque and Las Vegas which will provide full-time coverage of the Sandia National Laboratories, the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant, the Nevada National Security Site, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and Idaho National Laboratory; a 46% reduction in headquarters personnel; a facilities-focused reorganization of the headquarters staff; and, the establishment of a new Executive Director of Operations, or EDO, who will lead the entire agency.

In announcing the reform, Hamilton said: "Today, the Board will begin a process of change that is long overdue. In recent years, the Department of Energy has changed its processes, procedures and organization, and we have been slow to adapt. This restructuring will improve our safety focus and independent oversight priorities in the field, while making our headquarters organization leaner to make us more responsive in the execution of our mission."

The new structure will be effective October 1, 2018 and is expected to be implemented fully during fiscal year 2019. Mr. Christopher Roscetti, the current Technical Director, will serve as the agency's first Acting EDO until the Board permanently fills the position.

The DNFSB is an independent Federal agency responsible for safety oversight of the Department of Energy's defense nuclear facilities. By statute, the Board has five Members. Acting Chairman Hamilton is joined on the Board with Ms. Jessie Roberson, Mr. Daniel Santos, and Ms. Joyce Connery, and there is one vacancy.